SAN ANTONIO- A total of 12 students from Our Lady of the Lake University (OLLU) received the 2018-2019 Presidential Volunteer Service Award. Students were able to do this by completing at least 100 hours of community service.

The Corporation for National and Community Service website states that “This award honors individuals whose service positively impacts communities in every corner of the nation and inspires those around them to take action, too.”

Students partnered with non-profit volunteer agencies through the Center for Service-Learning and Volunteerism (CSLV) on campus to record their service hours throughout the academic year. Jennifer Bendele, director of the CSLV said, “We are proud of these student’s work in our communities and proud to have these service leaders as part of OLLU.”

The students that received this award are:

Peter Apaez- 195 hours
Maricela Camargo- 139 hours
Anthony Cortez-102 hours
Alexis Elizondo-118 hours
Michael Garcia- 260 hours
Lauren Garcia- 102 hours
Natasha Glenn- 117 hours
Vanessa Perez- 114 hours
Sarah Resendez- 100 hours
Arleen Silva- 101 hours
Joseph Vasquez-148 hours
Crystal Venegas- 100 hours

The next academic cycle to receive this award is from June 1. 2019 to May 31. 2020. For more information on the Presidential Volunteer Service Award, visit the CSLV in the Worden building, room 23. They can also be contacted at 210-431-3990 or

There is no ads to display, Please add some

Leave a Reply